Seed Starting – Followup

Winter Sow vs. Starting Indoors

Back in March I posted about starting my seeds for this years garden. I have always started my seeds indoors in a sunny spot. But I had read about Winter Sowing and decided to give that a try as well.

I was very skeptical about the success of this endeavor because our spring has been so wonky. I think the results are mixed but overall I am impressed.

My winter sown peas did not come up. And my spinach didn’t do well at all. A few sprouted and died quickly (I was using old spinach seeds though so that could be the problem. And I have always had trouble growing spinach. The lettuce is doing very well though.

Winter Sown Lettuce

Winter Sown Lettuce

As are the marigolds.

IMG_1667

Winter Sown Marigolds

Indoor Sown Marigolds

Indoor Sown Marigolds

A few weeks after I started these I put out tomatoes and peppers. I have had a hard time with peppers in the past but both my indoor and winter sown seeds are doing great this year.

Winter Sown Peppers

Winter Sown Peppers

Indoor Sown Peppers

Indoor Sown Peppers

I think most impressive to me are the tomatoes though. My indoor seeds always struggle with growing strong and upright and tend to succumb to dampening off (although cinnamon helps with that). The winter sown ones are looking great though.

Winter Sown Tomatoes

Winter Sown Tomatoes

Indoor Sown Tomatoes

Indoor Sown Tomatoes

I really like this method of seed sowing. I am not sure I will give up sowing indoors all together though.
 

Leave a Reply

