No poo

At this point in my life I am convinced that there is very little that baking soda and vinegar can’t do. On the list of things that they are useful for; shampoo and conditioner. Crazy I know.

I have been attempting to eliminate chemicals from our lives for a while now. And one of the things we use every day, shampoo and conditioner, are full of them.

These are the ingredients in the shampoo I used to use.

Water/Eau, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Chloride, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Xylenesulfonate, Fragrance/Parfum, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Sodium Benzoate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Panthenol, Panthenyl Ethyl Ether, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.

And the conditioner.

Water/Eau, Stearyl Alcohol, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Stearyl Alcohol, Quaterium-18, Fragrance/Parfum, Bis-Aminopropyl Dimethicone, Benzyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Hydroxypropyl Guar, Oleyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Citric Acid, EDTA, Polysorbate 60, Panthenol, Panthenyl Ethyl Ether, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone.

And here are the ingredients in my new shampoo, baking soda.

Active: Sodium Bicarbonate.

image

And my new conditioner, apple cider vinegar.

Cider Vinegar

image

Now I know that not all of those ingredients in my old shampoo and conditioner are chemicals. But a lot of them are. And no, we don’t eat them so what is the big deal? Well the things we put on our skin soak in and end up in our system. And they also wash off and end up in our water and throughout the environment. The products I was using contain all kinds of chemicals I don’t want in my system, my families system or washing down into the environment or our water. Baking soda and apple cider vinegar are natural ingredients. No worries there.

I had been reading a lot online about going “no poo.” Lots of people have tried it with varying degrees of success. I decided to give it a try.

It took me about a week of using baking soda in place of shampoo for my hair to normalize. Because the baking soda doesn’t strip your hair completely of all of its natural oils it can take a little while for your scalp to stop overproducing to compensate for what the shampoo was doing to it. Now, because my scalp is allowed to do it’s natural thing my head is actually less oily than it used to be. And my hair doesn’t need washing as frequently either.

The baking soda leaves my hair clean but tangly. I also read that using apple cider vinegar in place of conditioner works. So I added that to my new routine. Now the smell takes a bit of getting used to but after a while it doesn’t phase you. I was nervous that I would smell like a salad all day. But it worked really well. My hair softened and detangled very well with it.

I am so happy with my new routine. I have baking soda mixed with water in my shower which I put around the crown of my head and massage through the hair on my scalp. Then I just give the rest of my hair a quick rub with whatever has drained down. I rinse then splash some apple cider vinegar on the top of my head. Let it sit a minute and then rinse. (Note: If you get the ACV in your eyes or on and open cut it will sting!) It works great, my hair is clean and my hubby says I don’t smell like a salad.

Something I feel is worthy of noting is I do not use product in my hair (hair spray, gel, etc.) nor do I dye it. So I do not know how the baking soda and ACV would work on hair that has been. Have any of you tried going “no poo?” What has your experience been?

Leave a Reply

