DIY Deodorant

I ran out of deodorant the other day. I decided before I started to stink I had better make more. Make? Yes make.

After learning about what antiperspirants do and contain, and unsuccessfully trying a few natural ones, I searched the web and Pinterest for some DIY deodorant instructions. I found lots of different recipes. Then narrowed them down to ones that were solids and contained natural ingredients that I already had, or were affordable and accessable.

I ended up combining/adapting two recipes. One from One Good Thing by Jillee and one from Frugally Sustainable.

Here is what I came up with.

image

DIY Deodorant Recipe
1/2 cup Coconut Oil
1 1/2 Tbsp. Beeswax
1/2 cup Baking Soda
1/2 cup Arrowroot powder (also called arrowroot flour or arrowroot starch)
1/4 tsp. Vitamin E Oil
2 capsules probiotics (shelf stable)
30 drops essential
3 Empty deodorant containers 2+ oz. (I just reuse some old containers I have)

image

To make this recipe, combine the baking soda, arrowroot powder and probiotics (open up the capsules and dump them in) in a bowl.

image

Next melt the beeswax using a double boiler method.

image

Melt the coconut oil using the same double boiler method.

image

Then combine the beeswax, coconut oil, Vitamin E oil and essential oils. I use 20 drops of Lavender Oil and 10 drops of Tea Tree Essential Oil.

image

Now mix the liquids with the dry ingredients in the bowl until well combined.

image

Spoon the mixture into empty deodorant containers.

image

Clean up the outside of the container and put the cap on.  I put it in the fridge to harden and then it is ready to use. Store at room temperature.

See, easy! This deodorant works really well and lasts all day. I am extremely happy with it. And it is cheap. I added up my ingredient costs, did all of the math and it worked out to about $1.15 per stick. Yeah, cheaper than what I used to buy and so much better! No nasty chemicals. No clogged sweat glands. Easy, cheap and good for you!

Leave a Reply

