Heavy

Life seems to get heavier this time of year. The cold is setting in which makes my bones hurt. So many people I know are struggling. Lost jobs, lost loved ones, lost health, depression. It feels like we are all teetering on the brink. And we are entering the holiday season. A time that to be full of thankfulness, joy and giving. And we are thankful. But that joy is hard to hold on to. Difficult to see through the hardness of life.

I have been learning though. Reading Ann Voskamp’s book One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are has really challenged me to learn to live thankfully despite this hard life. The key to keeping that joy seems to be gratefulness. So easy to lose, so important to regain. If you haven’t read this book I would definitely encourage you to. I listened to it through our library’s website, then checked out the paper copy, then bought it and am reading it again. Maybe I am a slow learner but it is such an important lesson to really learn, deep down, and to practice until I have it. Being thankful, grateful, for all of the little things and big things fills the heart with joy.

Forgive my lack of eloquence. My brain is a jumbled, mushy, mess lately. Just go read Ann Voskamp’s book. She is very eloquent. Check out her blog too. www.aholyexperience.com It is definitely worth adding to your RSS feed.

And if you have time, money and/or gifts to give, do it. If you need someone to give to, let me know. I have friends who really could use a helping hand right now.

One response to “Heavy

Leave a Reply

